Sometimes love seeks triumph in disguise!


I stood for long by your door last night, listening to the quiet sobs, tears going cold & heart hardening in resolve, as you cried yourself to sleep trying to soothe away the ache…in the morning your eyes looked hollow, doubt clouding your face, gone was the resolve and tenacity of yester night, replaced by desperation and contradiction, sifting through the sands for happier memories – changing truth to fantasy – looking for reasons to hold on. You tell me he’s still in-love with you, he really hasn’t moved on, you saw him yesterday and he looked miserable; he seemed gutted with regret. But you are just clutching at straws; it’s what you desperately want to believe even when you know better.

You saw the lights fading and knew the curtains were closing, all the signs were there but you chose to ignore them; the nights he never came home, all the texts that were never replied, the new best-friend – who used to be his old crush – how she slaps his hand every time they share a private joke… then one day he took off the costume and stopped playing the role. He said that you had changed and things just weren’t the same anymore but all the while he couldn’t look you in the eye. She came to pick him up when he moved his stuff out – a shoulder to lean on – but the next day you saw them, holding hands, in school.

I have seen the look in your eyes every time we ‘unintentionally’ bump into him at the all places you used to visit together, each time with a different girl hanging on his arm. Most times he doesn’t even notice you, so you whisper nothings into my ear and burst into exaggerated laughter but even then he only glances around to acknowledge you with the slightest nod. You squeeze my hand in hurt and plant a kiss on my cheek to make him jealous… I only wish the kisses were real but I keep my jealousy close!

Every time the world comes crashing down, you always wind up at my door; tears flowing, feeling used and cheap, faith broken, swearing never to take a chance on love again, not to let anyone in but every time those walls come crumbling down, you always rush in again; blindingly seeking the same hurt like the moth that rushes to a flame of its own destruction. And every time I am always there to catch your tears, to tend to the bruises; trying to salvage what is left of you heart – and each the time the pieces are getting smaller – reminding you that you’re worth a lot more, holding your hand so you may not give-up on love, mending your heart so you might love another.

My love seeks triumph in disguise; masking my true feelings with the pretense friendship and all the time secretly hoping to be found-out…It is true am seeing someone now but I lied when I said I loved her because my heart isn’t mine to give. Am afraid to show you the face of my love because am afraid you’ll turn away form me, afraid to tell you that what I feel for you because you might not feel the same. So I live clothed in wistful desire because I can’t bear the thought of you turning me down. But I have loved you all along and if I could, if I had the courage, if ever I find the right words, if it still isn’t too late for us…I would tell you how much I care, if ever you give me the chance, then maybe I will tell you how much I want to hold you, how am dying to kiss you, to soothe away all the fears and the pain from past hurts, if ever the time comes, maybe then you might be truly loved!

Herb-lore.


These are my condolences to sobriety, paid my respects to sanity
With no regards for rules and morality, am severing all ties with reality
Serve me a dose of hallucination, there is only futility in certainty
Numb my senses and dull my fatigue, soothe away my apprehensions
Let me live my illusions, because my life is full of false impressions
Just one more puff of fantasy and my problems can turn to delusion

Lost in a cloud of smoke, staring through a haze & fits of fuzzy intuition
Looking for answers to many questions, in search of true perception
Finding mental arousal, where creativity blooms in flights of imagination
Delirium imposes clarity on my thinking, an assault on all accepted wisdom
Drowning out the voices from without, condescending & tinged with derision
Breaking the shackles of blind devotion, with a ‘critique of pure reason’

Uncovering this pathetic charade, where freedom is only a vague metaphor
Trying to filter the truth from the news, when it’s mostly fictitious palaver
Manipulation of information; twisting the facts to suit stakeholder interests
Free expression is frowned upon; forced compliance gained moral consent
A society that breeds conformity; rebellion is only allowed at a mass protest
Individuality is confused for eccentricity, sensibility lost a popularity contest

To these phony hypocrites, only dancers with little style and no substance
Preaching hate and violence, using cultural identity to justify racial intolerance
Talking about religious obligation, oblivious of the church’s increasing irrelevance
Persecuting people for their dress-code, but their only crime is pious observance
Tainted by a fanatical narrow-minded minority; victims of a misguided adherence

A contemptible generation in the depths of despair, waiting for a hero to bring them salvation
But only I can bring you the ultimate liberation, cure your addictions and suicidal inclinations
Listen to this call of destiny, a summon to purpose, come to my altar and find self-appreciation
Accept my call to surrender and you will find eternal peace & unbridled pleasure
This is not a call to idol worship; I only ask that you embrace me in full measure
Roll it, light it; find your awakening and a tranquility that you will seek to treasure

“…when given a choice between religious belief and existential despair, choose marijuana…”

Acquiescent Apathy


Am falling over the edge
Slipping from this ledge
Plummeting beyond salvation

The passing of my days utterly surreal
Seemingly disconnected & detached from existence

I feel as one with the stars
Watching from afar as the dull and the mundane elapse

Time is passing but I don’t even care to try again
I am stuck in a bleak quiescence

The fire is gone and it’s quiet within
There are no more raging battles to lose

I gave up on my dreams already
The challenges now look futile and insurmountable

The cold chills my reason as the frost spreads to my heart
Insides crawling with the repugnance of trying to blend in, pungent mendacity
Suffocating in my own bile, sinking into a depression, drowning in despair
The walls are crumbling
I am going under, not bothered to fight the melancholy

Seeking escape in the darkness
Afraid of waking, begging for emotional fatigue

Sweet relieving pain
A breakaway from the draining monotony of routine

The voices have gone quiet now
In search of answers but the trail went cold

Trying to write myself off but the pen falls from my hand as creativity ebbs away
Am running now, out of my mind, trying to leave my thoughts behind,
Chased by my own shadows and the demons within, a hemorrhage of sanity…!